Re: Oppose Broadband Taxes

Dear Member of Congress:

At a time when everyday Americans continue to struggle with inflation, the last thing consumers need are higher monthly internet bills. We, the undersigned organizations and individuals, therefore urge you to oppose any attempts to impose new taxes on broadband service, including by assessing broadband for contributions to the Universal Service Fund (USF).

While USF faces fiscal challenges, these should ideally be addressed through distribution reform. If the contribution base for USF is expanded to include mass-market broadband providers, it will be American households that foot the bill to keep this program on life support. At a time when Congress has appropriated billions for rural broadband buildout, including the \$42 billion BEAD program, taxing the very service Congress wants more Americans to adopt is self-defeating.

Under the Telecommunications Act of 1996, the USF was <u>established</u> to subsidize broadband access to rural American communities, funded by a quarterly contribution factor from wireline and wireless telecommunications providers. Three decades ago, contribution revenue generated from traditional voice calls was enough to bankroll a sizable portion of the USF alone. However, following the rise of competing services such as text messaging and digital streaming, USF revenue streams have collapsed in recent years. According to the Technology Policy Institute, the taxable base for USF contributions has <u>declined</u> from \$70 billion in 2003 to \$30 billion in 2022. In response, the USF has been forced to <u>squeeze</u> its diminishing collection base even further, raising the contribution factor from 14 percent in 2010 to 34 percent in 2024.

In response to this looming funding shortfall, some lawmakers have proposed expanding the USF contribution burden to broadband providers. While this solution may provide some fleeting relief for legacy telecommunications services, it is guaranteed to deliver excessive price hikes for millions of American consumers. These misguided proposals will treat what are ultimately problems of design, eligibility, and duplication as a revenue problem and simply raise taxes to meet future shortfalls.

In January 2024, FCC Chair Jessica Rosenworcel <u>cautioned</u> against this approach as well, explaining that "any reforms that increase the contribution base...will likely be passed through and have a direct effect on consumers." This prediction should certainly be heeded because <u>82 percent</u> of USF contributors already pass their contribution costs on to consumers. For mass-market broadband providers in particular, Chair Rosenworcel <u>insisted</u> that a mandatory USF contribution would "lead to an *increase* in the monthly broadband bills paid by the average household", citing a Future of USF <u>report</u> forecasting monthly price hikes as high as \$17.96.

Rather than taxing broadband, lawmakers should focus on cutting through the bureaucratic thicket and lowering costs for consumers and broadband providers alike.

Signed,



Grover Norquist

President Americans for Tax Reform



Chuck Muth

President Citizens Outreach



Nathan Leamer

Executive Director Digital First Project



Bartlett Cleland

Executive Director Innovation Economy Alliance



James Erwin

Executive Director Digital Liberty



Jeff Mazzella

President Center for Individual Freedom



Tom Shcatz

President Citizens Against Government Waste



Deb Collier

Executive Director Citizens Against Government Waste



Matthew Kandrach

President Consumer Action for a Strong Economy



Jessica Melugin

Director of Technology & Innovation Competitive Enterprise Institute



Ed Longe

Director of Technology and Innovation James Madison Institute



Dick Patten

President American Business Defense Council



George Landrith

President Frontiers of Freedom



Brandon Arnold

President National Taxpayer Union



Tom Hebert

Executive Director Open Competition Center



David Williams

President

Taxpayer Protection Alliance



Yael Ossowski

Deputy Director Consumer Choice Center



James Czerniawski

Senior Policy Analyst Americans for Prosperity



Daniel J. Erspamer

CEO

Pelican Institute



Phil Kerpen

President American Commitment



Lorenzo Montanari

Executive Director Property Rights Alliance



Sebastian Griffin

Director of Techology and Innovation Mountain States Policy Center



Lisa B. Nelson

Chief Executive Officer American Legislative Exchange Council



Rosemary Becchi

Founder and President Jersey 1st



Evan Swarztrauber*

Steve Pociask

President and CEO American Consumer Institute

^{*}Indicates individual signer